Gravity (2013)

Image I’ve always been fascinated by space.  And unlike any movie other than 2001: A Space Odyssey, Gravity gave me justice once again. I don’t normally use adjectives like “breathtaking”, but if I don’t describe this movie as breathtaking, I’d be doing this review thing wrong. There isn’t much to say about the story. It all happened after the Russians blew up one of their satellites and the debris orbited around the Earth causing havoc on all what’s in their way.  And while Medical technician Ryan Stone (Sandra Bullock) and veteran astronaut Matt Kowalski (George Clooney)  were working on the Hubble telescope, the debris reached them and left them drifting around our planet with nothing but their will to survive. The 100 minutes run-time felt like twenty, and all I could think about was how bad I wanted to see more.  I was drifting in space with Sandra and George, and I wanted to drift a little longer. The 3D effects were amazing: for a second there I thought that I was actually hit by satellite parts. I admire what visionary director Alfonso Cuaron did in this gorgeously choreographed movie, and how he portrayed space as this beautiful yet terrifying monster that could kill us and make us feel alive.  “The camera is a third astronaut, and that astronaut is the audience”, said Cuaron, I just wish that astronaut focused more on space rather than Sandra Bullock. However, I don’t blame him, because although I hated Sandra for her comedies, she gained all my respect in Gravity. She was great and she gave us one terrific performance: Oscar-nomination performance. Gravity was gorgeous, tense, breathtaking, and realistic. But for me, it lacked the fascinating spirit found in Ang Lee’s Life of Pi, the visual masterpiece that turned philosophy into a motion picture. Gravity is a must-watch nonetheless, and you’d be doing yourself a favor if you watched it on the big screen. Rating: 7.5/10; Visually thrilling and breathtaking.

Note: Although geopolitical tension does not exist in the movie, why did it have to be the Russians? And common, those people are geniuses, they wouldn’t blow up a satellite. But if they did, they wouldn’t blow it up while it’s in orbite. But whatever, American cinema loves to blame the Russians.
5 thoughts on “Gravity (2013)

  1. I actually decided to comment on your review just for the end note. I just watched the movie today, and although I liked it I was annoyed by the subtle political messages. Along with the movie 2012, I noticed that American movies love blaming Russia for all the shit that goes wrong.

    Like

  2. Howdy I am so happy I found your blog page, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was researching on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to
    say kudos for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I
    have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome
    work.

    Like

    1. Oh wow! Thanks a lot I really appreciate the kind words! I’ve been a little busy with exams lately so The Cinema Goon has been kind of dead. But I’m back now and the post will be back very soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

